The Connecticut Trolley Museum operates an authentic tourist recreation of an early 20th Century electric railway. It has 1.5 miles of main line track and several restored antique trolley cars. Visitors can enjoy trolley rides, guided tours, and exhibits. The visitor's center has a gift shop and an exhibition hall. The property also has a restoration shop, car barns, The Connecticut Fire Museum, and a bus museum. The Connecticut Trolley Museum is owned and operated by the non-profit Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc.
To provide a historically accurate educational experience of the trolley era, through the interpretation, preservation, restoration and operation of an electric railway.
The Hartford & Springfield Street Railway Company built a 17 mile branch line from Warehouse Point to Rockville in 1906. The line was abandoned in 1926. The Connecticut Electric Railway Association was incorporated in 1940, and bought 3.2 miles of the right-of-way and 17 acres for service buildings. Museum volunteers built track and acquired many antique trolleys and other railway equipment. Trolleys were acquired from Hartford, New Haven, Montreal, New Orleans, Rio de Janeiro, and other cities. Car barns and a restoration shop were also constructed. In 1955 the first public rides were given on restored trolleys. Over the years more track was built. Our present 1.5 miles was finished in 1990. A new visitor's center was started in 1990 and dedicated in 2005.